18.—Distribution of Primary Power to Systems, 1946-51

System	1946	1947	1948	1949	1950	1951
	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.
Montreal System Beauharnois Local System	538,000 34,000	$567,000 \\ 35,000$	620,000 36,000	669,000 70,000	730,000 65,000	803,000 171,000
of Ontario)	250,000 125,000	250,000 128,000	250,000 128,000	250,000 130,000	250,000 137,000	250,000 80,000 8,000
Totals	947,000	980,000	1,034,000	1,119,000	1,182,000	1,312,000

(Coincident with Montreal System peak)

In addition to the ownership and operation of these generating and distributing systems, the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission administers the 64,000 h.p. Upper Ottawa River plant at Rapid VII and also the Dozois Reservoir. Average primary power statistics for this Northern Quebec System (Cadillac-Noranda district) are as follows: 1946, 15,750 h.p.; 1947, 18,140 h.p.; 1948, 21,270 h.p.; 1949, 34,790 h.p.; 1950, 35,500 h.p.; and 1951, 30,550 h.p.

Ontario.—The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario is a corporate body administering a province-wide co-operative enterprise to produce and distribute electric power. The members of the Commission, a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen, are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council to hold office during pleasure. One Commissioner must be a member, and two may be members, of the Executive Council of the Province of Ontario.

The Commission was created in 1906 by an enactment of the Ontario Legislature, after consideration of recommendations made by advisory commissions which had been appointed in response to public demand that the water powers of Ontario should be conserved and developed for the benefit of all the people of the Province.

The Commission operates under the authority of the Power Commission Act (S.O. 7 Ed. VII, c. 19) passed in 1907 as an amplification of the Act of 1906 and subsequently modified by numerous amending Acts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 281). It is a separate entity, a self-sustaining public concern endowed by the Power Commission Act with broad powers to produce, buy and distribute electricity, and to perform certain regulatory functions with respect to the activities of the electrical utility commissions of the member municipalities. The enterprise represented by the Commission is generally known and referred to as the Ontario Hydro.

The Year Book 1940 contains a general article on the Ontario Hydro, to which reference has been made in succeeding editions. It deals with the early history of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario from its founding in 1906 and sketches the later development of the Commission both in organization and resources which followed the lines so well established by the first Chairman, Sir Adam Beck.

The undertaking initially proposes to purchase a block of 100,000 h.p. from the Ontario Power Company Limited at Niagara Falls and to distribute this to thirteen municipalities which had signed the original contracts with the Commission to take power at cost. In 1909 the task of constructing a transmission system to distribute power to the member municipalities was begun, and, by the end of the following year, power was being supplied to several of them. Similarly,